Sant Mat Spirituality and Meditation @ Tumblr

  1. Showing posts tagged “book reviews”.
  2. Photo
    Book Review: #Kabir 1008 Vani
by James Bean
Copyright August 2005
Kabir 1008 Vani — Nectar of Truth and Knowledge
Essence of the Collection of Saakhis (the Saakhi Granth of Guru Kabir) in Simple Language and Style
Compiled by Lalchand Doohan Jigyasu
Translated into English by Kunwar Anil Kumar


Genres: Ethics, Genuine Ethical Foundation of Spirituality, Morality, Principles, Wisdom, Sant Mat, Kabir Panth, Meditation, Bhakti (Love and Devotion),


This is one of the most important books of Kabir to have. Kabir 1008 Vani is a very beautiful and impressive book of ethics and wisdom featuring 1008 sayings of Kabir, one of Indian’s greatest Masters and poet-mystics, who lived in northern India around six hundred years ago. As with Rumi, the Persian Sufi poet, in recent years Kabir has also become increasingly popular in the West. A few decades ago, the only translations of Kabir were, “Songs of Kabir” by Rabindranath Tagore published in 1915, and Robert Bly’s 1971 paraphrase or “versions” of Kabir, which were also based upon Tagore’s translation. These days however, there are literally hundreds of books available in the English language exploring the poetry and teachings of Sri Guru Kabir Sahib. The Saakhis (a term for a certain kind of poetic composition, a couplet giving testimony of eternal truths) are often used in the satsangs (spiritual gatherings in the name of Eternal Truth) of many spiritual paths based in India. It makes a great deal of sense that spiritual teachers would give satsang talks based upon the Saakhis of Kabir, as they are brimming with wisdom about how to integrate spiritual principals into one’s daily life. Kabir was critical of religious hypocrisy, going through the motions of outward rites and rituals without sincerity of heart. His path was that of Bhakti, meaning, love and devotion for the Beloved Supreme Spirit. For Kabir, the true church, mosque, or temple is within the body, within the human heart. The theme of the Saakhis is bringing all levels of our existence, more and more with each passing day, in body, speech, emotions, and thought, into harmony with the soul or spirit inside.


ISBN: 81-8133-515-5
Publisher: Manoj Publications, Delhi, 
Website: http://www.ManojPublications.com/lpage.asp?word=kabir
Can be special ordered in the US via Nataraj Books:
http://www.NatarajBooks.com/
(Banyen Books of Vancouver in Canada)

    Book Review: #Kabir 1008 Vani
    by James Bean
    Copyright August 2005
    Kabir 1008 Vani — Nectar of Truth and Knowledge
    Essence of the Collection of Saakhis (the Saakhi Granth of Guru Kabir) in Simple Language and Style
    Compiled by Lalchand Doohan Jigyasu
    Translated into English by Kunwar Anil Kumar


    Genres: Ethics, Genuine Ethical Foundation of Spirituality, Morality, Principles, Wisdom, Sant Mat, Kabir Panth, Meditation, Bhakti (Love and Devotion),


    This is one of the most important books of Kabir to have. Kabir 1008 Vani is a very beautiful and impressive book of ethics and wisdom featuring 1008 sayings of Kabir, one of Indian’s greatest Masters and poet-mystics, who lived in northern India around six hundred years ago. As with Rumi, the Persian Sufi poet, in recent years Kabir has also become increasingly popular in the West. A few decades ago, the only translations of Kabir were, “Songs of Kabir” by Rabindranath Tagore published in 1915, and Robert Bly’s 1971 paraphrase or “versions” of Kabir, which were also based upon Tagore’s translation. These days however, there are literally hundreds of books available in the English language exploring the poetry and teachings of Sri Guru Kabir Sahib. The Saakhis (a term for a certain kind of poetic composition, a couplet giving testimony of eternal truths) are often used in the satsangs (spiritual gatherings in the name of Eternal Truth) of many spiritual paths based in India. It makes a great deal of sense that spiritual teachers would give satsang talks based upon the Saakhis of Kabir, as they are brimming with wisdom about how to integrate spiritual principals into one’s daily life. Kabir was critical of religious hypocrisy, going through the motions of outward rites and rituals without sincerity of heart. His path was that of Bhakti, meaning, love and devotion for the Beloved Supreme Spirit. For Kabir, the true church, mosque, or temple is within the body, within the human heart. The theme of the Saakhis is bringing all levels of our existence, more and more with each passing day, in body, speech, emotions, and thought, into harmony with the soul or spirit inside.


    ISBN: 81-8133-515-5
    Publisher: Manoj Publications, Delhi,
    Website: http://www.ManojPublications.com/lpage.asp?word=kabir
    Can be special ordered in the US via Nataraj Books:
    http://www.NatarajBooks.com/
    (Banyen Books of Vancouver in Canada)


    Tagged: ethics, morality, santmat, sant mat, kabir, guru kabir, sant kabir, radhasoami, radhaswami, ahimsa, spirituality, book reviews, india, masters of the east,
  3. Audio Originally by spiritualawakeningradio
    Alistair Conwell, author of, The Audible Life Stream, Part 1
    Spiritual Awakening Radio Podcasts

    spiritualawakeningradio:

    PODCAST: The Guest is Alistair Conwell, author of, The Audible Life Stream — Ancient Secret of Dying While Living, Part 1 — Click To Download MP3 of Spiritual Awakening Radio: Download MP3: http://download.liveindexer.com/podcasts/HealthyLifeOD/Audio//ECI_AUTO/May2014/SPA052014_wma.mp3


    Listen (Stream) Online: http://view.liveindexer.com/ViewIndexSessionSLAO.aspx?backTo=ViewEvents&indexSessionSKU=xVg7Mz8madX50%2fDSmAFesQ%3d%3d


    Today’s program is about Inner Light and Sound Meditation & the Near-Death Experience.


    Other Recent Podcasts: http://hosted.earthchannel.com/HealthyLife/spa-od.html


    Tagged: spiritual awakening radio, podcast, audible life stream, sant mat, james bean, radio, spiritual podcasts, spiritual radio, book reviews, OOBE's, NDE's, near death experiences, meditation, radhasoami,
  4. Photo
    Book Review: “The Pilgrimage of James — An Odyssey of Inner Space”, Peacehaven Press


By James Bean

Mixed Media: Book Reviews, Website Reviews, Music Reviews


The Pilgrimage of James — An Odyssey of Inner Space, authored by George Arnsby Jones, Peacehaven Press, HC 72 Box 235, Jasper, Arkansas 72641, $9.00 postage paid


(It’s been a couple of years since this review was written, so you might want to check with Jan Self, who was handling the books, to make sure copies are still available. They should be but good to make sure there are some copies left: jself@eritter.net  )

OOBE’s and NDE’s Are Not A New Phenomena


In the world of mystical literature there is a small but growing number of books that record people’s experiences of soul travel through the heavens, out-of-body and near-death experiences. Some books in this genre have even been quite popular, such as, Embraced By the Light, Betty Eadie, Life After Life, Dr. Raymond Moody, and, Heading Toward Omega, by Dr. Kenneth Ring. In earlier centuries, Gnostic gospels, the Tibetan Book of the Dead, Songs of the Sabbath Sacrifice (Dead Sea Scroll text), The Prayerbook of the Mandaeans (from Iraq and Iran), Sar Bachan Radhaswami Poetry, and other world scriptures have also described people’s journeys into heavenly realms, and their communications with angels, souls in the beyond, beings of Light, and the Supreme Being.


One of the most eloquent contemporary examples of this is a book by George Arnsby Jones called, The Pilgrimage of James, An Odyssey of Inner Space, a record of one soul’s explorations of higher planes of consciousness or heavenly realms. The late George Arnsby Jones was the person who first coined the term “new age music” or “NAM” back in the 1950’s, referring to certain types of music that have healing or other spiritual properties. He developed a technique for working with sound called “Psychophonics.” His meditation practice also focused on sound — inner Sound or Heavenly Music, the art of hearing Mystic Sound not normally audible to the human ear, a form of meditation called “Surat Shabad Yoga,” the Yoga of the Audible Life Stream, taught to him by his Indian spiritual Master: Kirpal Singh of Delhi, India. Mr. Jones eventually founded Peacehaven, a Center for Human Unity and Fulfillment, located in the Ozark mountains of North West Arkansas, as well as Peacehaven Press. His work is being continued by family members and his books remain in print through Peacehaven Press.

The Soul’s Existence Before Birth


The book begins by recording events just PRIOR to the birth of “James” when, as a spirit he lived in what’s called “the astral realm of the Nightmusic.” Then he came to the earth-plane:


“AND I, James, stirred after the interregnum between incarnations, which was the spirit’s waking dream of great duration; and I wanted to see the physical world now, as it truly is, and I yearned to meet the living spiritual adept of this time. My longing focused my consciousness downwards; my spirit moved in a wide and glowing tangent, then it veered earthward in a plummeting fall.”


“I, James, have known love, and love is an immense madness of spiritual intoxication. I remembered that I had once stood on the edge of a vast ocean of love, and love had saturated my soul like music. Love is the eternal primavera of the heart, arising out of the bleak sepulcher of the spirit’s winter. Before the creation of mind and matter, my love was a boundless sea of all-consciousness. The nature of James was all-bliss, sufficient unto myself. Every electron, every atom, every particle of dust in my personal creation was imbued with love. There was no void in my universe of love, no place where love was not, no place where love and bliss were non-existent. No other being now existed, for I was love and you were love. We were love and we are love. I am the self of all selves. All was love and all is love — if I can but seize that truth for ever.”


“My great madness of love had brought me into the physical world many times, but now had dawned that incarnation in which I would reach the feet of the living spiritual adept of this time, here in the physical world. That cumulus of mist which had hovered over my mother’s bridal bed, an anxious James waiting to be conceived and born again into flesh, acknowledged the fact of myself as the prime-mover in my new earthly existence. All acts of love progress from mirage to fact. And now, as I returned to the physical after the long respite of the soul, I trembled as I sensed the cyclonic vortex of the world’s rage. But soon the mists of forgetfulness would be drawn across the consciousness of the new-born child.”

The Rainbow Bridge of Celestial Tonal Fire


Though there are numerous descriptions of heavenly regions of Light and Love, a spinning vortex of blue light, the astral realm of the Nightmusic, a meeting with a Persian Sufi poet, baptisms in a lake of nectar, waterfalls that make music — whole skies filled with music!, an encounter with the person who invented the sitar who lamented that it was his “failed” attempt to “capture the music of the Spirit in terms of the physical world,” — in addition to all that, there is much wisdom and insight for living to be found in this most unusual little book:


“The pathway to the highest realms of Life, my Persian teacher informed me, is by way of the Unstruck Music. This Music is the creative spiritual fiat, the rainbow bridge of Celestial Tonal Fire and Supernal Light that the pilgrim soul traverses in order to reach that ultimate Abode of Love. And, I, James, a weak mortal, had caught some faint spirant of that Heavenly Music in this incarnation.”


“All beautiful forms and tones of this world are mere reflections of some aspect of that ultimate Love-Music of the Great Creative Word. Within the vast complex of creation, each individual spirit is himself/herself a spark of that Eternal Song of Love.”


“To explore the far reaches of the inner realms one must understand one’s true nature. Perhaps it is not entirely the fault of modern man that he does not understand his own inner universe. He has achieved much, and if such concepts escape his own consciousness it is because he has no flaming falcon of the spirit on his fist to soar beyond the confining reaches of the intellect. Men have journeyed to the physical moon, but they know nothing of the regions of the blissful music within themselves — regions which lie beyond the moon, beyond the sun, beyond the most distant stars and galaxies.”


“There are those who have wandered among the darting comets and the shimmering orbs of sounding fire. The soul-explorer is not alone, for there are those who have traveled the highways of the inner cosmos; far more than one may at first realize.”


“…The planes of heaven are about you everywhere. Man has only to know this simple truth consciously, and then he will be free.”  ////////

ALSO SEE: E Book: “The Inner Journey of the Soul back to its Origin”, another book by George Arnsby Jones, and it’s online: 
http://www.Scribd.com/doc/117712777/The-Inner-Journey-of-the-Soul-back-to-its-Origin

    Book Review: “The Pilgrimage of James — An Odyssey of Inner Space”, Peacehaven Press


    By James Bean


    Mixed Media: Book Reviews, Website Reviews, Music Reviews


    The Pilgrimage of James — An Odyssey of Inner Space, authored by George Arnsby Jones, Peacehaven Press, HC 72 Box 235, Jasper, Arkansas 72641, $9.00 postage paid



    (It’s been a couple of years since this review was written, so you might want to check with Jan Self, who was handling the books, to make sure copies are still available. They should be but good to make sure there are some copies left: jself@eritter.net )


    OOBE’s and NDE’s Are Not A New Phenomena


    In the world of mystical literature there is a small but growing number of books that record people’s experiences of soul travel through the heavens, out-of-body and near-death experiences. Some books in this genre have even been quite popular, such as, Embraced By the Light, Betty Eadie, Life After Life, Dr. Raymond Moody, and, Heading Toward Omega, by Dr. Kenneth Ring. In earlier centuries, Gnostic gospels, the Tibetan Book of the Dead, Songs of the Sabbath Sacrifice (Dead Sea Scroll text), The Prayerbook of the Mandaeans (from Iraq and Iran), Sar Bachan Radhaswami Poetry, and other world scriptures have also described people’s journeys into heavenly realms, and their communications with angels, souls in the beyond, beings of Light, and the Supreme Being.


    One of the most eloquent contemporary examples of this is a book by George Arnsby Jones called, The Pilgrimage of James, An Odyssey of Inner Space, a record of one soul’s explorations of higher planes of consciousness or heavenly realms. The late George Arnsby Jones was the person who first coined the term “new age music” or “NAM” back in the 1950’s, referring to certain types of music that have healing or other spiritual properties. He developed a technique for working with sound called “Psychophonics.” His meditation practice also focused on sound — inner Sound or Heavenly Music, the art of hearing Mystic Sound not normally audible to the human ear, a form of meditation called “Surat Shabad Yoga,” the Yoga of the Audible Life Stream, taught to him by his Indian spiritual Master: Kirpal Singh of Delhi, India. Mr. Jones eventually founded Peacehaven, a Center for Human Unity and Fulfillment, located in the Ozark mountains of North West Arkansas, as well as Peacehaven Press. His work is being continued by family members and his books remain in print through Peacehaven Press.


    The Soul’s Existence Before Birth


    The book begins by recording events just PRIOR to the birth of “James” when, as a spirit he lived in what’s called “the astral realm of the Nightmusic.” Then he came to the earth-plane:


    “AND I, James, stirred after the interregnum between incarnations, which was the spirit’s waking dream of great duration; and I wanted to see the physical world now, as it truly is, and I yearned to meet the living spiritual adept of this time. My longing focused my consciousness downwards; my spirit moved in a wide and glowing tangent, then it veered earthward in a plummeting fall.”


    “I, James, have known love, and love is an immense madness of spiritual intoxication. I remembered that I had once stood on the edge of a vast ocean of love, and love had saturated my soul like music. Love is the eternal primavera of the heart, arising out of the bleak sepulcher of the spirit’s winter. Before the creation of mind and matter, my love was a boundless sea of all-consciousness. The nature of James was all-bliss, sufficient unto myself. Every electron, every atom, every particle of dust in my personal creation was imbued with love. There was no void in my universe of love, no place where love was not, no place where love and bliss were non-existent. No other being now existed, for I was love and you were love. We were love and we are love. I am the self of all selves. All was love and all is love — if I can but seize that truth for ever.”


    “My great madness of love had brought me into the physical world many times, but now had dawned that incarnation in which I would reach the feet of the living spiritual adept of this time, here in the physical world. That cumulus of mist which had hovered over my mother’s bridal bed, an anxious James waiting to be conceived and born again into flesh, acknowledged the fact of myself as the prime-mover in my new earthly existence. All acts of love progress from mirage to fact. And now, as I returned to the physical after the long respite of the soul, I trembled as I sensed the cyclonic vortex of the world’s rage. But soon the mists of forgetfulness would be drawn across the consciousness of the new-born child.”


    The Rainbow Bridge of Celestial Tonal Fire


    Though there are numerous descriptions of heavenly regions of Light and Love, a spinning vortex of blue light, the astral realm of the Nightmusic, a meeting with a Persian Sufi poet, baptisms in a lake of nectar, waterfalls that make music — whole skies filled with music!, an encounter with the person who invented the sitar who lamented that it was his “failed” attempt to “capture the music of the Spirit in terms of the physical world,” — in addition to all that, there is much wisdom and insight for living to be found in this most unusual little book:


    “The pathway to the highest realms of Life, my Persian teacher informed me, is by way of the Unstruck Music. This Music is the creative spiritual fiat, the rainbow bridge of Celestial Tonal Fire and Supernal Light that the pilgrim soul traverses in order to reach that ultimate Abode of Love. And, I, James, a weak mortal, had caught some faint spirant of that Heavenly Music in this incarnation.”


    “All beautiful forms and tones of this world are mere reflections of some aspect of that ultimate Love-Music of the Great Creative Word. Within the vast complex of creation, each individual spirit is himself/herself a spark of that Eternal Song of Love.”


    “To explore the far reaches of the inner realms one must understand one’s true nature. Perhaps it is not entirely the fault of modern man that he does not understand his own inner universe. He has achieved much, and if such concepts escape his own consciousness it is because he has no flaming falcon of the spirit on his fist to soar beyond the confining reaches of the intellect. Men have journeyed to the physical moon, but they know nothing of the regions of the blissful music within themselves — regions which lie beyond the moon, beyond the sun, beyond the most distant stars and galaxies.”


    “There are those who have wandered among the darting comets and the shimmering orbs of sounding fire. The soul-explorer is not alone, for there are those who have traveled the highways of the inner cosmos; far more than one may at first realize.”


    “…The planes of heaven are about you everywhere. Man has only to know this simple truth consciously, and then he will be free.” ////////


    ALSO SEE: E Book: “The Inner Journey of the Soul back to its Origin”, another book by George Arnsby Jones, and it’s online:
    http://www.Scribd.com/doc/117712777/The-Inner-Journey-of-the-Soul-back-to-its-Origin


    Tagged: Out of Body Experiences, near death experience, meditation, mysticism, book reviews, sant mat, radhasoami, surat shabd yoga, kirpal singh, peacehaven, george arnsby jones, heave, soul travel, eckankar, masterpath,
  5. Sant Dadu Dayal, the Poet-Mystic of Rajasthan, in the Tradition of Kabir, from the Ocean of Love (Bhakti) and All-Consciousness, a book review by James Bean http://SantMatRadhasoami.Blogspot.com

    Translations of Dadu’s bhajans (hymns, mystic poetry) are quite rare in English. Volume 25 in the glorious “Encyclopaedia of Saints Series” represents the most complete collection of the works of Sant Dadu Dayal in English to date: “Encyclopaedia of Saints of India, Volume 25: Sant Dadu Dayal”, By Bakshi and Mittra, published by Criterion Publications, New Delhi: ISBN: 8179380297.

    This volume contains the earlier translation by Dr. Kashi Nath Upadhyaya from his book, “Dadu — The Compassionate Mystic”, originally published by Science of the Soul (Radha Soami Satsang Beas), combined with, “The Life Story of Dadu Dayal — The Book of Janma Lila, By Jan Gopal”, which has been translated into English by the scholar Winand M. Callewaert, in, “The Hindi Biography of Dadu Dayal”, published by Motilal Banarsidass. The Dadu volume of, “Encyclopaedia of Saints of India” combines both of these other translations together, making the best single collection of Dadu Vani in English thus far. These above could be ordered from Amazon, ScienceOfTheSoul, VedamsBooks, BanyenBooks, NatarajBooks (special ordered), etc….

    Dadu is one of my all-time favorite classic Sants of India. He was a poet-mystic and spiritual Master of Divine Light, Sound, and Nirguna Bhakti from Rajasthan. Anyone who studies his teachings will encounter a very genuine, pure version of Sant Mat with the perfect balance of God and guru bhakti, love and mysticism (Surat Shabd Yoga, inner Light and Sound Meditation).

    In the tradition of Guru Kabir, Sant Dadu Dayal was a great bhakti Saint of India. ‘Dadu’ means brother and ‘Dayal’ is: “the Compassionate One.” He lived in the second half of the sixteenth century (1544-1603). His songs are in a Hindi dialect known as Braj Bhasa, being a mixture of Hindi and Rajasthani.

    "Sant Dadu Dayal gathered around himself a group of followers, which became known as the Dadu Panth. This organisation has continued in Rajasthan to the present day, and has been a major source of early manuscripts containing songs by the North Indian Saints [the Panch Vani, including Dadu Vani]. He himself did not write down any of his compositions. These were recorded by his disciple Rajjab. Another disciple, Jana Gopal wrote the earliest biography (The Janma Lila by Jana Gopal). Dadu clearly experienced the bliss of Sahaja and alluded to it in his songs." ("Encyclopaedia of Saints of India, Volume 25: Sant Dadu Dayal")

    Mystic Verses of Sant Dadu Dayal, in the Tradition of the Lover and the Beloved

    True Sants Focus Our Attention Upon God — Sadagati Sadhava re

    Saints are the true redeemers,
    They make one see the Creator face to face.
    Having themselves crossed the ocean
    of the world, they take others across;
    They are the saviors of beings.
    Dyed in the colour of the Supreme Lord,
    They have the blameless Name
    as their support;
    Always truthful, disciplined, blissful and contented,-
    Their wisdom and reach knows no bounds.
    In eternal love, in eternal ecstasy,
    In eternal company with the essential Truth;
    In eternal union, in eternal life,
    In eternal knowledge and contemplation are they absorbed.
    Crest-jewel of all, bestower of bliss to all,
    They are rare in this world.
    They are the Swans, the dwellers of the Ocean of Bliss,
    Who come for the good of others, 0 Dadu.

    "Wherever one’s thought dwells, there will that person rest. At his pleasure, he may go to the delusion of unreality or he may merge into the Lord of the self. Where thou keepest thy mind while living, to that abode shalt thou go after death. The soul finds lodging in a place wherein it has hitherto been immersed." (Dadu)

    “The lover is converted into the Beloved. That indeed is called true love. Forgetting his own ego, he remains absorbed in the One.” (Dadu Dayal)

    “The Name of God is my sect. My way of living is control of the senses. For my deeds — watch my disciples: their goal is to be immersed in Ram [God].” (Sant Dadu Dayal)

    “When one’s whole being is engaged in repeating the Name, that, indeed, is called repetition. The self then blossoms forth within, and the Lord reveals Himself, O Dadu.”

    “Do the repetition of God and forget Him not. Fulfill the purpose of thy birth by practicing concentration. Be steadfast in the remembrance of God. Practice meditation with love, and sing the glory of God. The human body is the door to salvation.” (Dadu)

    “One who, turning the attention inward, brings it within the self, and fixes it on the Radiant Form of the Master, is indeed wise, O Dadu. …. Search for the Beloved close to the place where-from the Sound emerges, and thou shalt find Him, sayeth Dadu. There is solitude there, and there is luster of Light. …. Fix thine attention within, O valiant servant, so does Dadu proclaim.” (Dadu)

    “The one who is merged in the Word, who is pierced by the arrows of the Master’s instructions, who is absorbed with the One alone — only that person is rightly set on the Path.” (Dadu)

    “God is within all beings. He accompanies all and is close by. Musk is in the musk-dear, and yet it goes around in search of musk. The self knows not God, although God is within the self. Being deaf to the holy Sound of the Master, sadly does he wander. He for whom thou searchest in the world, dwells within thyself. … Search for the Lord within thyself, the Imperceptible One hath the Guru revealed.” (Dadu)

    “Anahad baaje baajiye, amaraapuree niwaas. Joti saroopee jagamagai, koi nirakhai nij daas.” (Myriads of Sounds are heard; the one who hears gains access to the Kingdom of Immortality (place beyond the reach of death). A genuine servant gets to see the resplendent form of the Supreme Being.) (Dadu)

    “The knowledge of the Sound Current imparted by the Guru merges one easily into Truth. It carries me to the Abode of my Beloved, sayeth Dadu.” (“Encyclopaedia of Saints of India, Volume 25: Sant Dadu Dayal”, Bakshi and Mittra, Criterion Publications, New Delhi)

    Urgency of Realization

    This fragile and transient human life is speedily coming to its end. It is high time that we seek refuge in the Lord of Love. Only while living as a human being can the work be accomplished, not after death. Dadu:

    The mind is a deer, sayeth Dadu.
    Looking at the green forest of the world.
    This foolish one runs around puffed up
    with pleasure.
    It is destined to be a victim of Kal [lord of time, lord of death], the
    hunter.
    The body is like a passer-by,
    sayeth Dadu.
    No sooner dost thou look at him, that he goes out of sight.
    Be dedicated to the Name of God
    As long as there is breath in thy body.
    Hurry up, O passer-by, the journey hangs over thy head.
    Delay no more.
    What art thou doing sitting idle? Repeat God’s Name.
    Evening has set in while the traveler is still in the forest.
    He must move briskly.
    This is not the time to be slack, warns Dadu.
    Go Home quickly.

    Gone is the time, and lost is the opportunity.
    Where shalt thou find this priceless birth once it slips out of hand?
    Catching hold of our hand, the Negative Power [Kal] is drawing us close day by day.
    The self does not awaken even now.
    Its time is spent asleep.
    While watching, 0 Dadu, the hair has grown white from black.
    Body, mind, and youth are all gone, and even now thou turnest not to God!
    While alive one can transcend bodily qualities.
    While alive one can be liberated;
    While alive one can shed all Karmas.
    That truly is called liberation.
    While alive one can cross over what is hard to cross,
    While alive can one go to the other shore.
    While alive one can find the Master of the world,
    And can attain discrimination and wisdom.
    If the meeting is not accomplished while alive,
    If the contact is not made while alive,
    If the Lord of the universe is not found while alive,
    The one is simply drowned.
    One is freed while alive,
    One is not freed after death, sayeth Dadu
    If one were to be free after death,
    Then all will come under that.
    Some say one can secure abode in paradise after death;
    They preach liberation after death.
    They, indeed, are making the world
    insane, O Dadu…………… (Dadu)

    Japi Gobinda bisari jini jai

    Do the repetition of God [God’s Name] and forget
    Him not.
    Fulfill the purpose of thy birth
    by practicing concentration.
    Be steadfast in the remembrance of God.
    Practice meditation with love, and sing
    the glory of God.
    The human body is the door to salvation.
    Do the repetitions of God, the Creator
    of the universe. (Dadu)

    Results of True Love — The Vision of the Beloved

    One sits fearlessly by repeating God’s Name;
    the Negative Power can never consume him.
    When thou ridest the elephant, 0 Dadu,
    then dogs bark in vain.
    When love and devotion arise,
    one is firmly established in blissful meditation.
    With the grace of the Master,
    he then drinks the divine Nectar, 0 Dadu.
    By being dedicated to the Lord,
    millions of obstacles are removed.
    A tiny spark the size of a mustard seed
    burns a huge amount of wood, 0 Dadu.
    Impurities and blemishes of the mind
    are burnt up in the fire of separation.
    The separated lover will now see
    the vision of the Beloved, 0 Dadu.

    An Outer Guru that is not an Inner Guru, not a Qualified Teacher

    The whole world makes an outer display,
    whereas the practice of the Saint is within.
    This is the difference between the two;
    hence no accord is found between them.

    A new pot taken from the potter’s furnace
    may be decorated with many pictures outside;
    But of what use will it be to thee,
    0 Dadu, without any contents?
    Such are the ones who make outer display of religiosity.

    From one who bears no outer religious symbols,
    but has unfathomable riches within,
    Receive the wealth and keep it within
    thy heart, 0 Dadu, and be obedient to such a Saint.

    There is a great difference between a Saint and a mimic,
    the two are as far apart as earth and sky.
    The Saint is absorbed in God, whereas
    the mimic pins his hopes on the world.

    The One alone dwells within my heart,
    Day and night I repeat His Name.
    The Name of God alone is true;
    keep that within thy heart.
    Forsake all hypocrisies and cumbrous practices;
    this is the teaching of all Saints, 0 Dadu.

    “Remembering God, life is successful, if spent in the service of others.” (Sant Dadu the Compassionate Mystic quoted in, The Life Story of Dadu Dayal - The Book of Janma Lila, By Jan Gopal)

    “I bow before the immaculate, divine Gosvami [Supreme Being]. Through my Guru’s favor I have been given all purity. I greet all the Sants: through their devotion I drink the nectar of Ram [God]. There is no end to the number of Sants who appeared in the Yugas [Epochs] of Sat, Treta, Dvapar, and Kali. I sing of the celebrated one I have heard of, and bow my head to all the others.” (Jan Gopal, disciple of Dadu Dayal)

    A quote from the 16th century Indian Master Dadu, who outlined the Sant Mat vision of the spiritual life to be pursued during our time here on planet Earth:

    Recognize the Path to your Beloved, O travelers and take the route of the anguished lover in separation. Keep the Master’s grace in your thoughts, and reflect upon his pure teachings. Develop love and devotion with endearment, and keep the thought of the Creator always before you. Try to merge yourself into God like water and water. Fix your mind within by following the Path of the Sound Current. A yearning will arise; make then an intense and anguished call. Repeat the Name of your Beloved, day and night, again and again. With care in thought, word and deed, you will cross to the other shore.


    Tagged: dadu, sacred texts, india, dadu vani, sant mat, radhasoami, surat shabd yoga, bhakti, love, God, kabir, rumi, books, book reviews, mysticism, gnostic, sufi,
  6. Photo
    Spiritual Awakening Radio Website: Podcasts, Donate Button, Current  Broadcast Schedule, Blogs, Library, Social Networking/Daily Spiritual  Quotes: http://www.SpiritualAwakeningRadio.com/index.html

    Spiritual Awakening Radio Website: Podcasts, Donate Button, Current Broadcast Schedule, Blogs, Library, Social Networking/Daily Spiritual Quotes: http://www.SpiritualAwakeningRadio.com/index.html


    Tagged: book reviews, comparative religion, east and west, meditation, sacred texts, spiritual awakening podcasts, spiritual awakening radio with james bean, spirituality, vegan, vegetarian diet,
  7. Text

    The Poet Kabir, the “Rumi” of India, Part 4 (Spiritual Awakening Radio, Tuesday 8/9/11) is now available as a podcast

    GO TO the PODcast Page of SpiritualAwakeningRadio.com:

    http://www.SpiritualAwakeningRadio.com/current.html

    (Source: spiritualawakeningradio.com)


    Tagged: spiritual awakening, spiritual awakening radio, james bean, kabir, rumi, podcasts, spiritual podcasts, spiritual radio, sant mat resources, india, spirituality, meditation, poetry, book reviews, readings, sacred texts, comparative religion, mysticism, God,
  8. Text

    Kabir: One of India’s Greatest Poet-Mystics and Spiritual Masters

    Kabir lived during the fifteenth century, born near Banaras, India of Muslim parents. He grew in the impassioned poetry and deep philosophy of the Persian mystics like Jalaludin Rumi. He is, as he says in his hymns, “at once the child of Allah and of Ram.” He achieved a synthesis of Hindu and Muslim belief and freely used symbols from both religions. He was a weaver, a simple and unlettered man, who earned his living at the loom. It is out of the heart of the common life that he sings his rapturous lyrics of divine love.

    “Kabir” is an Islamic name popular in the Muslim world – it’s one of the “Ninety-Nine Names of Allah” found in the Quran, meaning, “The Greatest.” Kabir was indeed a great soul, a kind of “Christ of northern India,” believed by some to be one of the most advanced souls to ever incarnate into the world. Today, Kabir has over twenty-five million devotees in various Kabir Panth and Sant lineages and is universally loved by Sikhs, Hindus and Muslims alike. Kabir’s hymns are still sung in the satsangs (spiritual gatherings) of various spiritual paths all over India and the world.

    Kabir is Everyone’s Universal Saint

    He was:

    a Master or Sant Sat Guru of Inner Light and Sound Mysticism/Surat Shabda Yoga and Sant Mat (Path of the Masters);

    a musician and poet of Nirguna Bhakti (love and devotion for the One Formless God);

    a great teacher of eastern mysticism and gnosticism;

    a peace maker between Hindus and Muslims;

    a social reformer in India who denounced the caste system;

    considered by many in Islam to be a Sufi Master or Murshid;

    considered by Hindus to be one of India’s greatest poet-mystics and Vaishnava devotees in the history of India;

    considered a Bhagat by the Sikhs — many of his hymns are included in the Adi Granth (Guru Granth Sahib, the Sikh scriptures);

    greatly influenced by Goraknath and the Nath Yogis, and the Nath Yogis of northern India were, in turn, influenced by Tantric Buddhism.

    9-6-kabir-graphic

    And some Christian missionaries at first thought Kabir might have been a Christian mystic due to his use of the mystic term “Word” or “Shabda” – Celestial Music, which reminded them of the Gospel of John, chapter one: “In the beginning was the Word…”

    Kabir freely used both Hindu and Islamic names for God. He attempted to make peace between Hindus and Muslims by pointing out that there is not a separate God for the East and West, but one universal Spirit Supreme.

    “The Hindu says Ram is supreme the Muslim, Rahim both die fighting each other neither knowing the Truth.

    “The south is Hari’s abode; Allah’s camp is in the west. Look inside your own heart - inside your heart of hearts - there is His abode, His camp.

    “If Hari is merciful He will place love in your heart, and you shall obtain the fruit of His name.

    “Allah-Ram, I live by Your name. Be merciful.”

    Kabir views humanity as being caught up in illusion, searching for Ultimate Reality in all the wrong places, always seeking It outside of ourselves in various rituals, temples, forests and mountaintops, not realizing That for which we seek is already hidden within us.

    “Your God dwells within you like fragrance in the flower;

    Musk lies within the Musk-deer yet seeks it afar.”

    For Kabir, God, called “Allah” in the west and “Hari” in the east, can be experienced directly in a rapturous meditative state of Love, Bliss, visions of Light, Heavenly Sound – a total oneness of soul and oversoul in the Ocean of Love.

    Kabir’s spirituality was a blend of Prem-Bhakti: love and devotion for the Beloved Lord of Love, the One God (Ekongkar), and mystical soul travel experiences of a visionary and auditory nature.

    This is my all-time favorite poem of Kabir, and it illustrates Kabir’s approach to God as both that of an out-of-body mystic as well as that of a lover for the Beloved.

    “How could the love between Thee and me sever?

    As the leaf of the water abides on the water:

    so Thou art my Lord, and I am Thy servant.

    As the night-bird Chakor gazes all night at the moon:

    so Thou art my Lord and I am Thy servant.

    From the beginning until the ending of time,

    there is love between Thee and me;

    and how shall such love be extinguished?

    Kabir says: ‘As the river enters into the ocean,

    so my heart touches Thee.’”

    That’s from the book, Songs of Kabir, by Rabindrath Tagore. From that same translation, here are verses where Kabir described some of his own inner mystical experiences.

    “What a wonderful lotus it is, that blooms at the heart of the spinning wheel of the universe! Only a few pure souls know of its true delight.

    Music is all around it, and there the heart partakes of the joy of the Infinite Sea.

    “Rapture wells forth, and all space is radiant with light.

    There the Unstruck Music is sounded; It is the music of the three worlds.

    “There the whole sky is filled with sound, and there that music is made without fingers and without strings.

    “The effulgence of the Supreme Being is beyond the imagination: Ineffable is His beauty, to see it is the only proof.”

    Below is a list of recommended key translations of Kabir in English. In addition to those, I also want to call attention to a book called, The Anurag Sagar, (Kabir’s Ocean of Love), published by Sant Bani Books, Sanbornton, New Hampshire, USA 03269.

    The Anurag Sagar is an epic reminiscent of the Ghat Ramayana of Tulsi Das and the Bhagavad Gita of the Mahabharata. In India, this text serves as a kind of “Genesis,” “Gospel,” and “Book of Revelation” all in one! A kind of gospel of Kabir, if you will. It summarizes the teachings of Kabir about the creation of the universe and higher planes/heavenly realms, the origin of evil and suffering in the world, the path to freedom from transmigration and reincarnation, and about Kabir’s past lives. It is believed by some, that Kabir incarnated during each of the Four Yugas or epochs of time, to establish lineages of spiritual Masters in the world in order to enlighten humanity. This Ocean of Love or Anurag Sagar is also a valuable manual for learning about meditation practice.

    Recommend Books On Kabir:

    Songs of Kabir, Rabindranath Tagore, Samuel Weiser Books;

    The Bijak of Guru Kabir (volumes I, II, and III), Dr. Jagessar Das, published by The Kabir Association # 208-14770 64th Avenue, Surry, B.C. CANADA V3S 1X7

    Kabir: Songs of the Divine, 180 Mystical Poems of Kabir, Dr. Jagessar Das, Urban Mystic Books, Surrey, BC. Canada;

    A Weaver Named Kabir, Charlotte Vaudeville, Oxford University Press;

    The Kabir Book, Robert Bly, Beacon Press, Boston;

    Praises to a Formless God, David Lorenzen, SUNY Press, NY

    Kabir – The Weaver of God’s Name, Radha Soami Books.

    _______   _______   ______      ________   ______      

    James Bean reviews books and music for the Wisdom Radio Network and other stations via a syndicated radio program called Spiritual Awakening, and teaches Sant Mat Meditation and Surat Shabda Yoga.

    (Source: santmatradhasoami.blogspot.com)


    Tagged: kabir, sant mat, india, meditation, enlightenment, spirituality, authors, writers, book reviews, podcasts, sufi, kabir panth, anurag sagar, comparative religion,
  9. Photo
    June Spiritual Awakening Radio Show Titles/Guests                            June 7th: Tapping Into Our Source of Inner Wisdom and Guidance(CHSR Program #259)June 14th: Veena Howard, on the Saints and Masters of India, Part 1(CHSR Program #260)June 21st: Veena Howard, on the Saints and Masters of India, Part 2(CHSR Program #261)June 28th: Three Ways We Can Honor the Soul(CHSR Program #262)                                                                                
Archived Shows Online: http://www.spiritualawakeningradio.com/archive.htmlTagged: spiritual awakening radio, james bean, spirituality, meditation, comparative religion, sant mat, webcasts, positive, talk radio, podcasts, spiritual podcasts, book reviews, spoken word,

    June Spiritual Awakening Radio Show Titles/Guests                            

    June 7th: Tapping Into Our Source of Inner Wisdom and Guidance
    (CHSR Program #259)

    June 14th: Veena Howard, on the Saints and Masters of India, Part 1
    (CHSR Program #260)

    June 21st: Veena Howard, on the Saints and Masters of India, Part 2
    (CHSR Program #261)

    June 28th: Three Ways We Can Honor the Soul
    (CHSR Program #262)                                                                                

    Archived Shows Online: http://www.spiritualawakeningradio.com/archive.html

    Tagged: spiritual awakening radio, james bean, spirituality, meditation, comparative religion, sant mat, webcasts, positive, talk radio, podcasts, spiritual podcasts, book reviews, spoken word,


    Tagged: book reviews, comparative religion, james bean, meditation, podcasts, podcasts, sant mat, spiritual awakening radio, spiritual podcasts, spirituality, spoken word, talk radio, webcasts,
  10. Photo
    The Search For Extraterrestrial Radio Signals - We May Already Have Discovered Evidence for Intelligent Life in the Form of “Wow Signals”
My favorite quote from, “Communication With Extraterrestrial Intelligence”: “Interesting signals without persistence are observed thousands of times each day at the SETI Institute.”
“Signals without persistence” refers to an unknown radio signal believed to be from the sky intercepted on a certain frequency that is observed for a few seconds or minutes only, and then ceases, never to be heard from again.
Some Thoughts Inspired By the New Book, “Communication With Extraterrestrial Intelligence”, Edited by Douglas A. Vakoch, SUNY Press, NYBy James Beanhttp://SantMat.Tumblr.comBelow I raise the question: what if we’re living in a galaxy where short, random “wow” signals are the norm, not long transmissions from ET “beacons” as imagined in the movie Contact?
Being a long term shortwave radio hobbyist, over the years I’ve noticed many mystery signals. Some of those pertain to over-the-horizon radar, spread spectrum communications, no doubt military, or air traffic, also “numbers stations”. There are deliberate signals being bounced off of various layers of the ionosphere, perhaps to determine what frequencies might be best for communications at various times of the day and night. Shortwave propagation is an ever-changing thing, even effected by weather and solar activity.  Some of these technologies move up and down the dial using many different frequencies simultaneously, or are rapidly going from one frequency to the next. I’ve followed signals before that literally sweep past many frequencies: 3 something MHz, 4, MHz, 5 MHz, and so on.It would be rather surprising if it turns out the “cosmic” or “galactic radio dial” is devoid of activities going on for the purpose of scientific exploration. And that ET activity, if it exists, might to us seem like unpredictable, random signals lasting for a few seconds only. I suppose we would have to have a much more sophisticated, elaborate ability to simultaneously scan all frequencies at once in order to notice discernible patterns, such as a mystery radio signal sweeping across many frequencies, suggesting intelligent life or automated electronics at work “somewhere out there.”Thus far, what leaps out at me from reading, Communication With Extraterrestrial Intelligence, are these descriptions of multiple “wow”** or mystery signals and pulses.*  And this leads me to make proposals about creating new techniques, attempting to find a way to make repeatable observations, addressing the difficult issue of random “signals without persistence.”Add to the Drake Equation: the percentage of advanced extra terrestrial civilizations with technology that, oddly enough, seek to make themselves known to a species such as ourselves! It seems quite reasonable that the overall number of advanced civilizations in the galaxy in possession of advanced technology would be a far larger population than the number of advanced extraterrestrial civilizations with technology that have a desire to be “celestial missionaries”, setting up beacons, deliberately sending out continuous signals for us to notice. In other words, the reality may very well be, it’s more likely we have the potential to intercept “wow” type signals or short mystery pulses rather than continuous signals (like imagined in the movie Contact). Perhaps we’re living in a galaxy where “wow” or accidental leakage type signals from ET’s are much more likely for us to find than deliberate beacons.There are many scientific reasons why ETs could have antenna arrays belching out massive quantities of RF, and we might notice this activity occasionally, in what to us, with our limited ability to observe a few frequencies only, could seem like short increments of 10 to 70 second bursts. If most ET’s are NOT trying to broadcast to us, maybe they are communicating amongst themselves, perhaps have some equivalent of radar, are keeping a watchful eye on valued solar systems (“cosmic burglar alarms”, if you will), or scientific exploration, probing regions of the galaxy with various types of signals and technologies. I find these potential mystery signals mentioned in the book to be quite intriguing! Many no doubt are glitches or false-positives, but the possibility or even likelihood of real ET signals arriving in the form of shorts bursts of accidental leakage not intended for us, seems more plausible than any other scenario. For me, this possibility rings true.That such signals would be next to impossible to verify and therefore not be, at present, appreciated by humans as historic events, is understandable, and predictable. But all it takes is evidence of one signal to be extraterrestrial and extra solar in origin, or at least quite suspicious, and that’s big news. SETI would have it’s funding as never before, to say the least!The Thorny Issue of Short Random SignalsI wonder if it can be possible to detect any discernible patterns with these short, random signals? Might they be emanating equally from all parts of the sky? Could a noteworthy percentage of them be coming from a certain direction or region? Right now, if SETI is based on the premise of there being an ET beacon sending out a continuous signal, does this mean that there’s no effort to record 10-90 second random signals? We would need to detect activity, then and only then would other antennas and receivers be fired up to go and examine the contents of such signals….to actually go and listen to the audio, check it for video, digital “ones” and “zeros” or other signs of technology and intelligence? In other words, at present with SETI, the “phone” would have being “ringing” for a few hours before anyone could pick up and hear the voice of the one who’s calling? No “answering machine” for them to leave a message after the “beep” that we could examine later on?If detected, a signal, would have to continue being received for hours in order for multiple telescopes to establish that this signal is — or is not — broadcasting from a certain location in the sky, maybe from a distant solar system, but being able to capture a signal, and examine it in detail, would be useful, especially if 30 seconds might be “it”, the only opportunity we might get.Could a narrow-frequency “wow” type signal consist of a blank or silent carrier? Based on current methods used by the SETI Program, could we tell if it’s modulated? What properties would it have exactly? What is the quality of the information currently being stored about the various frequencies being monitored, even for short periods of time? I know nothing of operational details, but it seems to me as a complete outsider to SETI, that what a signal consists of would reveal much, even if that signal was only 10 or 70 seconds in length: a garage door opener, satellite telemetry, a old Rolling Stones hit from the 70’s, or a highly unusual signal packed with a complicated stream of data that seems like nothing on Earth? With the SETI Program, I wonder if there is a digital equivalent of hitting the “rewind button” to have a listen to any unusual signals that have been detected in the past but are only active for 70 seconds or less? How to separate “wheat” signals from “chaff” signals? Can software be designed to automatically turn on extra equipment to capture more information during possible “wow signal” events?*”Interesting signals without persistence are observed thousands of times each day at the SETI Institute. Figure 4.3 for example shows a result obtained in a narrow band SETI search near the PiHI Frequency (the number phi times the HI observing line of 1420.4 MHz). This (extremely powerful) ~10 second pulse of narrow band radiation appeared in one fifty second observation period but was never re-observed. This pulse has interesting features: it is observed at a magic frequency in the direction of a nearby and potentially habitable star. Yet we cannot be sure this signal was created intentionally or unintentionally by some transmitter on Earth. Hence, after multiple observations over two weeks and no re-detection, we gave up (although this direction is added to a catalog of directions to re-observe as time permits).” (from pages 52 and 53, “Communication With Extraterrestrial Intelligence”, Edited by Douglas A. Vakoch, SUNY Press, NY)*The book also refers to mystery or “wow” signals on pages: 38, 43, 110, also optical SETI mystery pulses on 140, including the “Is it ET signal?”Interstellar Signal from the 70s Continues to Puzzle Researchers, by Seth Shostak - Senior Astronomer, SETI Institute:http://www.seti.org/page.aspx?pid=867**Youtube Video on the original and famous “Wow Signal” of the 1970’s:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pcSWDzd2cDU&feature=relatedThe Search For Other Earths, Part 1 - Spiritual Awakening Radio Podcast:http://download.liveindexer.com/podcasts/HealthyLifeOD/Audio//ECI_AUTO/Mar2011/SPA030811_wma.mp3The Search For Other Earths, Part 2 - Spiritual Awakening Radio Podcast: http://download.liveindexer.com/podcasts/HealthyLifeOD/Audio//ECI_AUTO/Mar2011/SPA031511_wma.mp3

    The Search For Extraterrestrial Radio Signals - We May Already Have Discovered Evidence for Intelligent Life in the Form of “Wow Signals”

    My favorite quote from, “Communication With Extraterrestrial Intelligence”: “Interesting signals without persistence are observed thousands of times each day at the SETI Institute.”

    “Signals without persistence” refers to an unknown radio signal believed to be from the sky intercepted on a certain frequency that is observed for a few seconds or minutes only, and then ceases, never to be heard from again.

    Some Thoughts Inspired By the New Book, “Communication With Extraterrestrial Intelligence”, Edited by Douglas A. Vakoch, SUNY Press, NY

    By James Bean
    http://SantMat.Tumblr.com

    Below I raise the question: what if we’re living in a galaxy where short, random “wow” signals are the norm, not long transmissions from ET “beacons” as imagined in the movie Contact?

    Being a long term shortwave radio hobbyist, over the years I’ve noticed many mystery signals. Some of those pertain to over-the-horizon radar, spread spectrum communications, no doubt military, or air traffic, also “numbers stations”. There are deliberate signals being bounced off of various layers of the ionosphere, perhaps to determine what frequencies might be best for communications at various times of the day and night. Shortwave propagation is an ever-changing thing, even effected by weather and solar activity.  Some of these technologies move up and down the dial using many different frequencies simultaneously, or are rapidly going from one frequency to the next. I’ve followed signals before that literally sweep past many frequencies: 3 something MHz, 4, MHz, 5 MHz, and so on.

    It would be rather surprising if it turns out the “cosmic” or “galactic radio dial” is devoid of activities going on for the purpose of scientific exploration. And that ET activity, if it exists, might to us seem like unpredictable, random signals lasting for a few seconds only. I suppose we would have to have a much more sophisticated, elaborate ability to simultaneously scan all frequencies at once in order to notice discernible patterns, such as a mystery radio signal sweeping across many frequencies, suggesting intelligent life or automated electronics at work “somewhere out there.”

    Thus far, what leaps out at me from reading, Communication With Extraterrestrial Intelligence, are these descriptions of multiple “wow”** or mystery signals and pulses.*  And this leads me to make proposals about creating new techniques, attempting to find a way to make repeatable observations, addressing the difficult issue of random “signals without persistence.”

    Add to the Drake Equation: the percentage of advanced extra terrestrial civilizations with technology that, oddly enough, seek to make themselves known to a species such as ourselves! It seems quite reasonable that the overall number of advanced civilizations in the galaxy in possession of advanced technology would be a far larger population than the number of advanced extraterrestrial civilizations with technology that have a desire to be “celestial missionaries”, setting up beacons, deliberately sending out continuous signals for us to notice. In other words, the reality may very well be, it’s more likely we have the potential to intercept “wow” type signals or short mystery pulses rather than continuous signals (like imagined in the movie Contact). Perhaps we’re living in a galaxy where “wow” or accidental leakage type signals from ET’s are much more likely for us to find than deliberate beacons.

    There are many scientific reasons why ETs could have antenna arrays belching out massive quantities of RF, and we might notice this activity occasionally, in what to us, with our limited ability to observe a few frequencies only, could seem like short increments of 10 to 70 second bursts. If most ET’s are NOT trying to broadcast to us, maybe they are communicating amongst themselves, perhaps have some equivalent of radar, are keeping a watchful eye on valued solar systems (“cosmic burglar alarms”, if you will), or scientific exploration, probing regions of the galaxy with various types of signals and technologies. 

    I find these potential mystery signals mentioned in the book to be quite intriguing! Many no doubt are glitches or false-positives, but the possibility or even likelihood of real ET signals arriving in the form of shorts bursts of accidental leakage not intended for us, seems more plausible than any other scenario. For me, this possibility rings true.

    That such signals would be next to impossible to verify and therefore not be, at present, appreciated by humans as historic events, is understandable, and predictable. But all it takes is evidence of one signal to be extraterrestrial and extra solar in origin, or at least quite suspicious, and that’s big news. SETI would have it’s funding as never before, to say the least!

    The Thorny Issue of Short Random Signals

    I wonder if it can be possible to detect any discernible patterns with these short, random signals? Might they be emanating equally from all parts of the sky? Could a noteworthy percentage of them be coming from a certain direction or region? 

    Right now, if SETI is based on the premise of there being an ET beacon sending out a continuous signal, does this mean that there’s no effort to record 10-90 second random signals? We would need to detect activity, then and only then would other antennas and receivers be fired up to go and examine the contents of such signals….to actually go and listen to the audio, check it for video, digital “ones” and “zeros” or other signs of technology and intelligence? In other words, at present with SETI, the “phone” would have being “ringing” for a few hours before anyone could pick up and hear the voice of the one who’s calling? No “answering machine” for them to leave a message after the “beep” that we could examine later on?

    If detected, a signal, would have to continue being received for hours in order for multiple telescopes to establish that this signal is — or is not — broadcasting from a certain location in the sky, maybe from a distant solar system, but being able to capture a signal, and examine it in detail, would be useful, especially if 30 seconds might be “it”, the only opportunity we might get.

    Could a narrow-frequency “wow” type signal consist of a blank or silent carrier? Based on current methods used by the SETI Program, could we tell if it’s modulated? What properties would it have exactly? What is the quality of the information currently being stored about the various frequencies being monitored, even for short periods of time? I know nothing of operational details, but it seems to me as a complete outsider to SETI, that what a signal consists of would reveal much, even if that signal was only 10 or 70 seconds in length: a garage door opener, satellite telemetry, a old Rolling Stones hit from the 70’s, or a highly unusual signal packed with a complicated stream of data that seems like nothing on Earth? With the SETI Program, I wonder if there is a digital equivalent of hitting the “rewind button” to have a listen to any unusual signals that have been detected in the past but are only active for 70 seconds or less? How to separate “wheat” signals from “chaff” signals? Can software be designed to automatically turn on extra equipment to capture more information during possible “wow signal” events?

    *”Interesting signals without persistence are observed thousands of times each day at the SETI Institute. Figure 4.3 for example shows a result obtained in a narrow band SETI search near the PiHI Frequency (the number phi times the HI observing line of 1420.4 MHz). This (extremely powerful) ~10 second pulse of narrow band radiation appeared in one fifty second observation period but was never re-observed. This pulse has interesting features: it is observed at a magic frequency in the direction of a nearby and potentially habitable star. Yet we cannot be sure this signal was created intentionally or unintentionally by some transmitter on Earth. Hence, after multiple observations over two weeks and no re-detection, we gave up (although this direction is added to a catalog of directions to re-observe as time permits).” (from pages 52 and 53, “Communication With Extraterrestrial Intelligence”, Edited by Douglas A. Vakoch, SUNY Press, NY)

    *The book also refers to mystery or “wow” signals on pages: 38, 43, 110, also optical SETI mystery pulses on 140, including the “Is it ET signal?”

    Interstellar Signal from the 70s Continues to Puzzle Researchers, by Seth Shostak - Senior Astronomer, SETI Institute:
    http://www.seti.org/page.aspx?pid=867

    **Youtube Video on the original and famous “Wow Signal” of the 1970’s:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pcSWDzd2cDU&feature=related

    The Search For Other Earths, Part 1 - Spiritual Awakening Radio Podcast:
    http://download.liveindexer.com/podcasts/HealthyLifeOD/Audio//ECI_AUTO/Mar2011/SPA030811_wma.mp3

    The Search For Other Earths, Part 2 - Spiritual Awakening Radio Podcast: 
    http://download.liveindexer.com/podcasts/HealthyLifeOD/Audio//ECI_AUTO/Mar2011/SPA031511_wma.mp3


    Tagged: Communication With Extraterrestrial Intelligence, Doug Vakoch, ET, Extraterrestrial Radio Signals, SETI, The Search For Other Earths, are we alone, james bean, podcasts, space, spiritual awakening radio, universe, wow signal, book reviews,
  11. Photo
    During April on Spiritual Awakening Radio:4/5/2011	Tom Shadyac-Director, Writer and Filmmaker-I Am4/12/2011 The Inner Light and Sound Masters of India4/19/2011 (Upcoming) Evelyn Kreutzer - A Centre for the World Religions4/26/2011 (Upcoming) Supreme Master Ching Hai - From Crisis To PeaceThe shows that have aired thus far during April are available on demand 24/7 as podcasts. To listen, go to: http://www.HealthyLife.net/RadioShow/archiveSPA.htm

    During April on Spiritual Awakening Radio:
    4/5/2011 Tom Shadyac-Director, Writer and Filmmaker-I Am
    4/12/2011 The Inner Light and Sound Masters of India
    4/19/2011 (Upcoming) Evelyn Kreutzer - A Centre for the World Religions
    4/26/2011 (Upcoming) Supreme Master Ching Hai - From Crisis To Peace
    The shows that have aired thus far during April are available on demand 24/7 as podcasts. To listen, go to:
    http://www.HealthyLife.net/RadioShow/archiveSPA.htm


    Tagged: spiritual radio, podcasts, archived shows, on-demand, spiritual awakening radio, james bean, spirituality, book reviews, guests, interviews,
PortraitSant Mat Spirituality and Meditation @ Tumblr: Bhakti (Love) of the Inner Light and Sound of God – This Living School of Spirituality (Mysticism and Gnosticism) from INDIA called Sant Mat is also known as the Way of the Saints, Radhasoami (Ra-dha-Swam-i), and, the Path of the Masters.

The meditation practice is Surat Shabd Yoga, meaning: Union (Yoga) of the Attention of the Soul (Surat) with the Inner Light and Sound of God (Shabd). This practice is also very "out-of-body" as in soul travel. – James

http://About.Me/SantMat

~♫.¸♥¸.✽~ARCHIVE of Tumblr POSTS~✽.¸♥¸.♫~

Ask Me Anything: Click to send me a direct message: http://santmat.tumblr.com/ask
Or, Outside of Tumblr, Email James at this address: SantMat_Mystic['at']Yahoo['dot']com

~♫.¸♥¸.✽~Tumblr Mobile~✽.¸♥¸.♫~

~♫.¸♥¸.✽~SUBSCRIBE To This Tumblr Profile via RSS Feed~✽.¸♥¸.♫~

~♫.¸♥¸.✽~ARCHIVE of Sant Mat Satsang PODCASTS @ Medium~✽.¸♥¸.♫~

~♫.¸♥¸.✽~ARCHIVE of Spiritual Awakening Radio PODCASTS @ Medium~✽.¸♥¸.♫~

~♫.¸♥¸.✽~The Sant Mat Radhasoami BLOG @ Blogger/Blogspot~✽.¸♥¸.♫~

~♫.¸♥¸.✽~The Sant Mat Radhasoami BLOG @ Wordpress~✽.¸♥¸.♫~

~♫.¸♥¸.✽~Sant Mat Meditation and Spirituality BLOG @ Medium~✽.¸♥¸.♫~

~♫.¸♥¸.✽~An Introduction to Sant Mat Spirituality and Meditation~✽.¸♥¸.♫~

~♫.¸♥¸.✽~Sant Mat Books – Online Library – Recommended Reading~✽.¸♥¸.♫~

~♫.¸♥¸.✽~Sant Mat E Books – E Library @ Medium~✽.¸♥¸.♫~

~♫.¸♥¸.✽~Sant Mat Radhasoami Page @ Facebook: Daily Spiritual Quotes~✽.¸♥¸.♫~

~♫.¸♥¸.✽~RadhaSoami Spiritual Quotes @ Facebook~✽.¸♥¸.♫~

~♫.¸♥¸.✽~Daily Spiritual Quotes at Twitter~✽.¸♥¸.♫~

Welcome! Wherever I am on the web I share podcasts and information, and post numerous spiritual quotes from a wide variety of sources. I often share about Inner Light and Sound Meditation: the Path of the Masters, featuring Words of Light and Love for the Spiritual Journey.

Also see my Sant Mat Radhasoami Blog with search engine: http://SantMatRadhasoami.Blogspot.com

About Me http://About.Me/SantMat

Am from Maine, vegetarian (vegan), and practice Inner Light and Sound Meditation in a spirit of Bhakti (Love for the Supreme Being). Am conspiring to make the world more peaceful, vegan, and spiritually awake. "Be Vegan. Make Peace."

Have been involved with Radio For Peace International, the community radio movement, Wisdom Radio, satellite radio and television, am an independent producer currently creating programs for several stations, including HealthyLife.Net – Positive Talk Radio. Am an author, teacher, public speaker, broadcaster.

Am a follower of Inner Light and Sound Meditation (traditional Sant Mat from an Indian perspective).

All for the Love of Wisdom and Radio, In the Love, Light, and Sound of the Beloved, Jai Sat Naam, Jai Guru, RadhaSoami, SatyaRaam, Peace Be To You,

James Bean
SantMat.Tumblr.com

In addition to making new friends, my focus is spirituality: using the radio airwaves, podcasts, the spoken word, writing, and online social networking-blogging to promote spiritual exploration, meditation, religious literacy, inter-faith studies and dialogue, comparative religion, also education for a more peaceful planet. This includes communicating about AHIMSA principles of non-violence in thought, word, and deed, raising awareness about certain civilization-busting issues including climate change, promoting the vegetarian vegan diet, also promoting inner Light and Sound Meditation. Am always interested in networking with those that desire the constructive use of media to advance health, well being, and positive change.

This profile and the Sant Mat Satsang Radio PODcasts are non-sectarian in spirit and inter-faith in tone, inclusive of the wisdom of all the great world religions, Masters (Sant Satgurus), and schools of mystics.

In a spirit of ahimsa/peace, through the written and spoken word, you will find spiritual quotes based upon the Teachings the Masters of the East, giving everyone access to rare books from India, some of which are only now appearing in English for the very first time. You will hear or read satsang talks, which are spiritual discourses representing a Living School of Spirituality known as Sant Mat.

'Spiritual Awakening Radio' Explores the World of Spirituality, Comparative Religion, Sacred Texts, Ahimsa Ethics: Peace, Being Veg, Going Green to Save the Planet – Education for a More Peaceful World – A Format of Inter-Faith Essays and Interviews.

Here you can access podcasts of Spiritual Awakening Radio, also the Sant Mat Satsang PODcast, along with a daily stream of spiritual quotes (Sant Mat, Radha Soami, Surat Shabd Yoga, Inner Light and Sound Meditation, the Path of the Masters, Buddhism, Hinduism, Jainism, Sikhism, Taoism, Bahai Faith, Kabbalah, The Essenes, Ebionites, Mandaeans, Christian Mysticism, Lost Books of the Bible, Sufism, Gnostics, and Mystics), links to blogs, news, announcements, and other updates. SCROLL DOWN BELOW!

Seven Things I Believe (and Experience)

*1) God is Real.

*2) God is Love, the Ocean of Love and Compassion.

*3) All of the world scriptures teach about the same manifestation of God as inner mystical Light and Sound.

*4) Our true identity is soul, the Self. Soul is part of God and therefore is, like God, pure love.

*5) During this human existence we have an opportunity to experience God.

*6) As we experience communing with God’s love during meditation – Surat Shabd Yoga, we can rise above body-consciousness and explore Inner Space, the “Kingdom of the Heavens” that are within us. “We travel back from the realm of Darkness to the realm of Light, from the Light to divine Sound, and from the realm of Sound to the Soundless State.” (Swami Sant Sevi Ji Maharaj) The drop merges back into the Ocean of Love.

*7) As we get initiated into the Mysteries of the Spirit by a Living Teacher (Sant Satguru), the purpose of our life is fulfilled. Reuniting with God is our reason to be here: “It was for the sake of the God-conscious beings that our True Lord created this earth, and began this play of death and birth.” (Adi Granth) Kabir said, “For millions of years you have slept. This morning, will you not wake?”

"All beautiful forms and tones of this world are mere reflections of some aspect of that ultimate Love-Music of the Great Creative Word. Within the vast complex of creation, each individual spirit is himself/herself a spark of that Eternal Song of Love."

"There are those who have wandered among the darting comets and the shimmering orbs of sounding fire. The soul-explorer is not alone, for there are those who have traveled the highways of the inner cosmos; far more than one may at first realize."

"...The planes of heaven are about us everywhere. One has only to know this simple truth consciously, and then we will be free." (George Arnsby Jones)

LINKS TO PODCASTS, E BOOKS/FREE SPIRITUAL BOOKS ONLINE, BLOGS, YAHOO GROUPS, BLOGGER, WORDPRESS, MEDIUM

Sant Mat @ Twitter

Sant Mat @ Google+

Spiritual Awakening Radio @ Google+

SpiritualAwakeningRadio.com

Sant Mat Satsang Podcasts – A Collection of PODCASTS @ Medium

SUBSCRIBE TO PODCASTS FOR FREE ANYTIME – Spiritual Awakening Radio

PODCASTS: Spiritual Awakening Radio – Library of Podcasts-On-Demand

PODCASTS: Sant Mat Satsang Podcasts – A Library of Podcasts-On-Demand

Spiritual Awakening Radio Page @ Facebook

An Introduction to Sant Mat Spirituality and Meditation

Radhasoami E Books @ Scribd

Sant Mat E Books @ Scribd

Sant Mat Library – Recommended Reading – The Path of the Masters

~♫.¸♥¸.✽~Sant Mat E Books – E Library @ Medium~✽.¸♥¸.♫~

Book Review of Sar Bachan Radhasoami Poetry and Prose Volumes – the M.G. Gupta Translation

Sant Mat Surat Shabd Yoga Radhasoami Guru Lineage Charts

Charts of the Heavens, Inner Regions

Sant Mat Radhasoami Page @ Facebook

Sant Mat Radhasoami @ Youtube

Sant Mat Meditation and Spirituality Blog @ Medium

Sant Mat Radhasoami BLOG @ Blogspot – Blogger

Sant Mat Radhasoami BLOG @ Wordpress

RadhaSoami @ Tumblr.com

Subscribe to the 'Light and Sound on the Path' E Newsletter By Joining Sant Mat Fellowship @ Yahoo Groups – Mailing List

LINKS PAGE: Sant Mat Radhasoami Links

LINKS PAGE: Sacred Texts, Inter-Faith Websites – World Religions

DISCLAIMER: All images are copyrighted by their respective owners unless otherwise stated.
Powered by Tumblr. Theme Faenza Inspired by Ilhuıtemoc.